Saturday, February 19, 2011

Legend of Gemstones

According to the philosophy of colour therapy, the days of the week also
demand varying colours. Wearing white on Monday, often considered a
depressing day apparently boosts confidence and overcomes failure. On
Tuesday red gives enthusiasm and zeal. Green is a soothing colour for
Wednesday and on Thursday yellow is prescribed since it is traditionally
associated with saints and rishis who achieved their aims easily. Violet
offers pease and calm on a Friday but a deep blue excites the imagination on
a Saturday. Orange or black is suitable for Sunday, the day of relaxation.

According to the Indian system there are apparently nine colours in the
human body paralleling the nine colours of the rays from the sun,
ultraviolet, violet, indigo, blue, green, yellow, orange, re and infra-red.
Indian astrology also specifies nine important planets Sun and Moon, Rohu
and Ketu, Saturn, Venus, Jupiter, Marcury and Mars. Correspondingly there
are nine precious stones or navaratnas that affect the individual these are
gomed, blue sapphire, diamond, yellow sapphire, emerald, coral, pearl, ruby
and cat's eye.

The philosophy of Yoga postulates seven major energy centres or chakras in
the human body that govern its behaviour and health. When all chakra points
are balanced, the seven colours of the rainbow surround us. Any disturbance
at any level shows in the behaviour of the chakra.

01. The Grown Chakra is situated on the top of the head and violet or white
is its colour. The Crown chakra controls the pineal gland in the brain and
so connects with these spirits that are helpful. If the chakra is not
active, and application of violet, the colour of the spirits is recommended
in order to promote enlightenment and spiritual awakening. Violet also curbs
the appetite and soothes nerves and relaxes muscles. It is also beneficial
in the treatment of arthritis, acute cass of consumption and insomnia and is
especially useful for those suffering from migraine. The gems that are worn
for the application of violet and white are alexandrite, amethyst, clear
quartz, diamond and selenite.

02.The Third Eye Chakra is situated in the middle of the forehead and
governs intuitive experiance. Indigo is the associated colour that gives
power to the pituitary gland that is linked to the nervous system, and so
improves mental abilities and the psychic potential of all humans. It is
also the source of intuition, clairvoyance and extra-sensory perception. The
colour influences the eyes and ears and controls bleeding and cures
abscesses. Indigo alleviates many disorders of the stomach and skin and
being a dark blue, is the line to the subconcious, strengthening the
sensitivity to truth and encouraging dreams in a sleeping person. The colour
has the psychological effect of allaying fear, frustration, and allied
problems, Indigo coloured gemstones are azurite, calcite, lapis lazuli,
sodalite and quartz.

03. The Throat Chakra is centred in the neck. Describing the beginning of
the world, Indian mythology relates that when the gods and demons churned
the waters, among other objects, poison spewed out and threatened to engulf
the world. When the God Shiva drank this poison to save mankind and his
consort Parvati held his throat to stop the poison entering his body, the
voman turned his neck blue. The colour blue has since then been considered
the colour of purity, but it is also the colour of Shani, the malefic
planet. A relaxing colour, blue makes people more more decisive and
clarifies though and speech. It lowers blood pressure and so induces sleep
and decreases palpitation. Chromotherapists treat ulcers, inflammatory
disorders and back problem with the blue. It has been used to treat
nonmalignant tumours, psychological problems, addictions, eating disorders,
impotence and depression. It eliminates toxins, cures liver disorders and
jaundice and offers relief for various other ailments. The blue gemstones
that are recommended in such cases are aquamarine, blue sapphire, chalcedony
and turquoise as well as blue diamonds.

04. The heart Chakra is located near the heart and at the centre of the
chest. It is the centre of the soul balancing the various organs such as the
heart, lungs, bronchia, arms, hands, and other organs. Naturally the colour
of this centrel Chakra is green, at the middle of the visible spectrum.
Linked with equilibrium, green influences the working of the heart and blood
supply. The colour indentified with Goddess Lakshmi, green cleanses and
renews the mind and body, removes stress and initiates a feeling of peace
and unconditional love. Mildly sedative and generally antiseptic and
germicidal, it can sometimes help in curing bacterial infections. The colour
gives a feeling of renewal, new life, freshness, and clarity. Nervous
conditions, hay fever, ulcers, influenza, malaria, colds, sexual disorders
and cancer have been successfully treated with green which is why hospital
rooms are generally painted light green. Emerald, green jade, kunzite, green
quartz and tourmaline are typically the green gemstones recommended for

05. The solar Plexus Chakra, centres just above the navel is the seat of the
human nervous system. When it is not correctly balanced problems with
digestion, liverishness, diabetes, and skin occur. Yellow is the colour of
the Solar Plexus Chakra and acts as a sensory stimulant that sharpens
perception and comprehension that in turn encourages wisdom and clarity of
thought. It affects the pulse and respiration rates as it stimulates the
brain, the liver and the spleen and acts as a decongestant and an
antibacterial agent that is laxative and diuretic. It has treated depressive
patients. Sociologists individuals that yellow street lighting is linked to
violet street fight. Gems of this colour are amber, citrine, tiger's eye,
topaz and yellow sapphire.

06. The Spleen Chakra lies below the navel and gives energy to the bronchia.
Its malfunction causes disturbances in the lungs, spleen, kidneys and
stomach and produces gall stones. When correctly aligned, it helps to treat
hernia, appendicitis and diseases of the kidney. On the other hand, conncted
with orange colour, it is a very effective emotional stimulant and inducs a
sense of independence, of happiness, of enthusiasm and bonhomie. Symbolic of
prosperity and pride, orange is useful for stimulating the blood supply and
energising the nerves. This colour reduces inhibitions, gives courage and
strength, promotes pleasure and adds energy and assurance and provides
sexual stimulation. Those in need are therefore advised to wear carnelian,
coral, gold, calcite, moonstone.

07. The Root Chakra is at the base of the spine and symbolic of heat, fire
and anger. Red governs this chakra and provides strength derived from the
earth. Strong willed and honest people generally choose this colour and wear
red gemstones such as ruby, agate, bloodstone, haematite, red coral or red
garnet to gain vitality, courage and confidence. Through the red colour, the
Root Chakra energizes the feet, legs, the genito-urinary system and
adrenaline glands. The colour stimulates arterial blood and brings warmth to
extremities. It stimulates brain activity heart rate, respiration and blood
pressure. It adds excitement but is also seen as an aggressive domineering
and threatening colour.

No comments:

Our Facebook Page